Get To Know Your Truckers! Hooray for new friends!

by

Name: Danny

Nickname: Chubby Wubby

Hometown: St. Petersburg, FL. a.k.a  ‘da burg

Age: 26

I have lived in NYC for: 4 years

I love working on the Dumpling Truck when: The weather is nice. The entire city just seems to function better.

My favorite location to work on the truck is: Anywhere in Brooklyn, but 45th and 6th in Manhattan, friendliest people, ever.

The craziest experience I had on the truck was when: These two very professional business women starting getting very aggressive over who was going to get the last order of vegetarian edamame dumplings. I swear I hear some mother insults going on

My favorite season is: winter, hands down.

I knew I was special when: I started to get way more pats on the back than other people.

When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me… Taking advantage of the city, admiring my boyfriend, trying out ridiculous cupcake recipes, but mainly stressing out over school assignments.

Customers on the street would love us more if they knew: That when someone orders a box of all three dumplings we call it an “around the world” who knew traveling could be so easy!

I hate it when: Texters run directly into you on the street and look at you like it’s your fault. Also, when the taco truck by my apartment isn’t around.

It’s sort of magical when: Two magicians go out on a date.

I was dumbstruck when I saw: An ihop open in Bushwick

My favorite color is: Orange! Definitely not purple.

I would describe my style when I am working on the truck as: Retro Presbyterian sheik

I would describe my style when I am not working on the truck as: The opposite of anyone who is obsessed with yoga

The truck wouldn’t be the truck without: Constantly being hassled by Halah guys (I will always love you!)

Most awesome famous person sighting: Maggie Gyllenhaal and Peter Sarsgaard for sure, but Mario Lopez was a close second.

Name: Brooke
Hometown: San Francisco, California
Age: 21

I have lived in NYC for: 3.5 Years
I love working on the Dumpling Truck when: There are lots of cool customers who make small talk!

My favorite location to work on the truck is: I really love working at any location in the village. There are lots of interesting people around and its fun!
The craziest experience I had on the truck was when: It was my first time manning the cash register and I rang in a bazillion customers! It was a good day for Rickshaw 🙂

My favorite season is: Fall
I knew I was special when: I got MVP on my crew team! Yeah Quads!
When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me: At NYU
Customers on the street would love us more if they knew: That we serve dumplings just for them, no one else! 🙂
I hate it when: It is hard to find parking for the truck! Arrrrrg……
It’s sort of magical when: You put all of your chicken Thai basil dumplings, noodle salad, spicy peanut dip, and Sriracha sauce together.
My favorite color is: Orange
I would describe my style when I am working on the truck as: Cool and helpful
I would describe my style when I am not working on the truck as: 90’s
The truck wouldn’t be the truck without: Awesome tip-jar sayings
Most awesome famous person sighting: Cat Cora

Name: Carrie Hildebrand

Nickname: Care Bear

Hometown: Sheboygan, WI

Age: 31

I have lived in NYC for: 12 years

I love working on the Dumpling Truck when: I’m new!  Stay tuned.

My favorite season is: Fall

When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me:  In my kitchen cooking, or eating my way around the city.

My favorite color is: Green

Name: Jena
Hometown: Alexandria, VA
Age: 23

I have lived in NYC for: 6 years
When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me: Walking my pit bull Bundy.
Customers on the street would love us more if they knew: How much effort we put into our dope dumpling dance moves.
I hate it when: You’re grumpy!
I would describe my style when I am working on the truck as: Alex Mac meets The Craft.
The truck wouldn’t be the truck without: A sound system!
Most awesome famous person sighting: Summer! Bring on the heat!

Name: Sara
Hometown: Maspeth, NY
Age: 21

I have lived in NYC for: 21 years, born and raised!!
I love working on the Dumpling Truck when: It was my first
time working on the truck, before I was even a trucker. I was working
in the 23rd St store still, and they needed someone for a nighttime
event. It was my first time working on the truck ever and I was with
Danny who showed me the ropes! The truck was parked inside of this
giant warehouse for the Details@Midnight event and Kid Cudi came on
stage to do a secret show! And we had the best seats in the house!

My favorite season is: Fall baby! Sweating is minimal, and we tend to
not smell as bad.
When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me: At the
library in Hunter College, studying or sleeping. The life of a college
student!
I hate it when: People say, “Oh, well you don’t look very Asian. Why are YOU working on a dumpling truck?” Really people? It’s 2011 in NYC. Food is universal!!!
It’s sort of magical when: You get to work at the same spots week
after week and see the same beautiful faces and you remember their
specific orders. It really makes their day and mine. Although all the
troubles we’ve been having in Manhattan have really hindered this, which is upsetting.
I would describe my style when I am not working on the truck as: The
same when I’m not on the truck. Super simple.

Name: Andrew
Nickname: Android
Hometown: Port Huron, Michigan
Age: 27

I have lived in NYC for: 2 Years
I love working on the Dumpling Truck for: Special events that are really different from regular locations.

My favorite location to work on the truck is: Best spot for me is Hudson and Houston or 50th and 6th (Time Life), really nice pace and the day goes by super quick, also regulars are chill cool individuals.
The craziest experience I had on the truck was when: Halal carts would spit on the ground by the truck and curse you out! 🙂 Then when they move their carts in front of our window, very mature people!

My favorite season is: Fall is my favorite season, hoodies and or short sleeves, no humidity:) Colors are fantastic as well
When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me: On Facebook and Twitter – mailto:www.bishopscollarmusic@gmail.comwww.bishopscollarmusic@gmail.com
I would describe my style when I am not working on the truck as: Clean cut with a rock style mixed with Midwest charm, ladies 🙂

Rheanne Hastings

Name: Rheanne Hastings
Nickname: Rhe
Hometown: Laconia, NH
Age: 21

I have lived in NYC for: About 9 months
I love working on the Dumpling Truck when: We have mini dance parties at the Highline

My favorite location to work on the truck is: Highline
The craziest experience I had on the truck was when: We worked at electric zoo. The crowd was awesome.
My favorite season is: Fall
I knew I was special when: A security guard made me a dollar bill bow tie to wear while serving
When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me: Roaming around the city or at my apt.
My favorite color is: Green
I would describe my style when I am working on the truck as: Easy going, and up beat
I would describe my style when I am not working on the truck as: Same outside of work as I am when I am working.
The truck wouldn’t be the truck without: THE TRUCKERS!
Most awesome famous person sighting: Charlie from It’s Always Sunny, but I wasn’t working.

Name: Mathew
Nickname: Smutty, Mettoogi
Hometown: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 26
I have lived in NYC for: Roughly 23 years
I love working on the Dumpling Truck when: Tunes are bumping and the line is long
My favorite location to work on the truck is: Where the happy people are
The craziest experience I had on the truck was when: Someone offered us illicit materials in
exchange for dumplings
My favorite season is: Autumn
I knew I was special when: My mommy first told me so
When I am not spreading dumpling love, you can find me: Sleeping or beating my head against
the nearly indomitable wall that is Graduate School
Customers on the street would love us more if they knew: How much of ourselves we actually
put into your enjoyable dumpling experience 🙂
I hate it when: Things break, grrr
It’s sort of magical when: The register isn’t over or under at all
I was dumbstruck when I saw: A Halal food cart park RIGHT IN FRONT OF OUR SERVICE
WINDOW
My favorite color is: Blue
I would describe my style when I am working on the truck as: Hyper fireworks
I would describe my style when I am not working on the truck as: Hyper-er fireworks
The truck wouldn’t be the truck without: Sexy employees
Most awesome famous person sighting: Stephen Dorf

Leave a Reply

